Style Switcher

Text Resize

Government of Puducherry


Puducherry is generally known to other parts of India and to the world nations as a land of “Learning and Wisdom”. It was here that the great Saint Agasthiya and the world renowned philosopher Shri. Aurobindo lived and propagated the ideals of “Humanism” and “World Unity”. The Union Territory of Puducherry comprising of Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam regions was created by the seventh amendment of the Indian Constitution. The merger of Puducherry with the Indian Union took place in the year 1954 as a result of an agreement reached between the Government of India and France on 21st October 1954. Puducherry Christened as “Window of French Culture” by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, is a small beautiful Union Territory with a total area of 492 Sq. Kms. On the east coast of India. The serene and pleasant land, as it exists today, has experienced various stages of evolution and growth. In the year 1963, the Parliament enacted the Government of Union Territories Act which provides for Legislative Assemblies and Council of Ministers in the Union Territories. In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 239 of the Constitution of India and Section 46 of the Government of Union Territories Act 1963, the President of India has framed the Business of the Government of Puducherry (Allocation) Rules, 1963 etc.

Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 27-03-2023